Official Suppliers:

Third consecutive Lysekil victory for Ulrikkeholm

Third consecutive Lysekil victory for Ulrikkeholm

Third consecutive Lysekil victory for Ulrikkeholm

– but first WIMR Series trophy goes to final opponent Lucy Macgregor

By securing her third successive victory in Lysekil Women’s Match, Camilla Ulrikkeholm will further strengthen her top position on the ISAF match racing world ranking. In the Lysekil finale the Dane beat Lucy Macgregor with a 3 – 1 score, but the British team still takes the Terry J Kohler Perpetual Trophy for the inaugural Women’s International Match Racing Series. Local sailor Anna Kjellberg defeated French Olympian Claire Leroy 2 – 1 in the petit finale, taking not only third place in Lysekil Women’s Match, but also the WIMR Series’ runner-up position.

Camilla Ulrikkeholm and her team of the Royal Danish Yacht Club in Skovshoved had an extremely joyful Saturday on the beautiful Swedish west coast, first defeating Claire Leroy 3 – 1 in their semi finals, then repeating the score after a couple of really exciting matches against Lucy Macgregor in the finale. “We are so happy! When seeing the list of competitors we never expected to be able to win again” Ulrikkeholm smiled after her third Lysekil Women’s Match victory in a row. “Camilla and her team sailed really well today, and showed they know how to handle the boat perfectly. I feel slightly deflated right now, but we’re happy to be second, and to have won the first Women’s International Match Racing Series” Macgregor commented. “We tried to cover Lucy all the time. She’s very good at finding the right way and the right puffs, so if she choses a side of the course it’s most likely the right one” Ulrikkeholm explained.

A very disappointed local hero, Swedish Olympian Anna Kjellberg, was defeated 1 – 3 by Macgregor in the semis. Yet determined to revenge herself, Kjellberg went energized into the petit finale. A mid-day lightning and thunderstorm delayed the races a little, but once running the finale offered propaganda conditions on the waters of Lysekil, with a steady southerly breeze and some sun. Kjellberg won the first match, before Leroy broke back and forced the Swede to win the last race:
“We experienced some difficulties in getting every detail right in every match. Still this result is OK, and we would never had expected to finish second in the Women’s International Match racing Series” Kjellberg concluded.

Results in the final of Lysekil Women’s Match 2013:
Camilla Ulrikkeholm, DEN – Lucy Macgregor, GBR 3 – 1

Results in the petit final of Lysekil Women’s Match 2013:
Claire Leroy, FRA – Anna Kjellberg, SWE 1 – 2

Results in the semi finals of Lysekil Women’s Match 2013:
Claire Leroy, FRA – Camilla Ulrikkeholm, DEN 1 – 3
Anna Kjellberg, SWE – Lucy Macgregor, GBR 1 – 3

Total results in Lysekil Women’s Match 2013 (skipper/nationality/WIMRS points/prize money):
1. Camilla Ulrikkeholm, DEN, 25, 100 000 SEK
2. Lucy Macgregor, GBR, 22, 47 000 SEK
3. Anna Kjellberg, SWE, 20, 39 000 SEK
4. Claire Leroy, FRA, 16, 31 000 SEK
5. Ekaterina Skudina, 15, RUS, 27 000 SEK
6. Anne-Claire Le Berre, 13, FRA, 24 000 SEK
7. Caroline Sylvan, SWE, 12, 19 000 SEK
8. Johanna Larsson, SWE, 10, 13 000 SEK
9. Alexa Bezel, SUI, 8, 0 SEK
10. Claudia Pierce, NZL, 6, 0 SEK
11. Anna Kjellgren, SWE, 4, 0 SEK

Results in the 2013 Women’s International Match Racing Series after five events, in France, Korea, Denmark, USA and Sweden (skipper/nationality/WIMRS points/prize money):
1. Lucy Macgregor, GBR, 88, 25 000 USD
2. Anna Kjellberg, SWE, 70, 15 000 USD
3. Camilla Ulrikkeholm, DEN, 69, 10 000 USD
4. Stephanie Roble, USA, 47
5. Lotte Meldgaard Pedersen, DEN, 44
6. Caroline Sylvan, SWE, 38
7. Claudia Pierce, NZL, 31
8. Ekaterina Skudina, RUS, 30
9. Tamara Echegoyen, ESP, 25
10. Klaartje Zuiderbaan, NED, 25
11. Alexa Bezel, SUI, 25
12. Julie Bossard, FRA, 22
13. Katie Spithill, AUS, 19
14. Claire Leroy, FRA, 16
15. Merel Witteveen, NED, 15
16. Anne-Claire Le Berre, FRA, 13
17. Anna Kjellgren, SWE, 11
18. Johanna Larsson, SWE, 10
19. Nicole Breault, USA, 10
20. Susannah Pyatt, NZL, 9
21. Milly Bennett, AUS, 8
22. Madeline Gill, USA, 6
23. Anne Marit Hansen, NOR, 4
24. Sung-Eun Choi, KOR, 4
25. Morgane Dréau, FRA, 4

The inaugural 2013 Women’s International Match Racing Series is a professional sailing circuit, hosted by the Women’s International Match Racing Association for the world’s leading women match racing sailors. In match racing the crews meet one on one in exciting duels that can easily be followed and understood by the spectators.

An overall prize purse of 50 000 USD, as well as the Terry J Kohler Perpetual Trophy, will be distributed by the WIMR Series at the final event in Lysekil, Sweden, in addition to the prize money at each of the five events included in the WIMR Series (date, event name, location, boat type):
* May 15-19 – Saint Quay Women’s Match Racing – St Quay-Portrieux, France – Elliott 6m.
* June 5-9 – Busan Cup International Women’s Match Race – Busan, Korea – K 30.
* June 20-23 – Danish Open Ladies Cup – Copenhagen, Denmark – J/80.
* July 11-14 – New York Women’s Invitational – Oakcliff, New York, USA – SM 40.
* August 5-10 – Lysekil Women’s Match – Lysekil, Sweden – DS 37.

Lysekil Women’s Match is with a 300 000 SEK (50 000 USD) prize purse the largest yearly event for women match racing sailors, concerning the mix of spectators, publicity and prize money. The world’s leading women match racing sailors participate in the eighth issue of Lysekil Women’s Match, August 5–10 2013, arranged by Sailnet Lysekil AB in cooperation with Lysekils SS Gullmar. Main sponsor for Lysekil Women’s Match is Preem and Thun Tankers, with the municipality of Lysekil as host city.

Images: A number of hi-res images are available for download on or on!/press/pressbilder-2

More information about the Women’s International Match Racing Series:
Twitter: @WIMRSeries #WIMRS

More information about Lysekil Women’s Match:
Twitter: @LWMLYSEKIL #LWM2013
Instagram: @LWMLYSEKIL #LWM2013